Recommend travel alone or a tour?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25th, 2003, 05:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a female grad student who wishes to travel to Italy over my Winter Break (mid Dec for 3 weeks). 1) Would you recommend traveling alone or with a tour situation? 2) Thinking of the upper half of Italy (Bellagio, others), recommendations? 3) Weather that time of year? (Hope I'm not snowed in!!) 4) Any other recommendations? Thanks!! Sherry
Old Oct 25th, 2003, 10:33 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Here's my suggested 'checklist' to help consider your options...

Have you ever traveled solo before? Are you comfortable with the idea? Do you know how to do air & hotels over the internet? I'm single, female, and always plan my own trips (love it & they've always been fantastic!) but that doesn't mean it's right for everyone.

Would you prefer to go at your own pace and plan your own days? Spending more time in each place and going at a slower pace? Or have a set itinerary of siteseeing, meals, and hotels picked for you, usually only a day or two in each location? Do you like being around other people as part of a group, or do you prefer to be more independent?

Three weeks is a long trip (longer than most organized tours offer). Also when you price package deals realize there is often a substantial 'single supplement' because the list prices are usually 'per person double occupancy'

Hope this is helpful to you in some way. Good luck!
Old Oct 25th, 2003, 10:39 AM

One thing you can do is go on your own and then take commercial excursions for the day. It gives you the flexibility of traveling by the seat of your pants, with the company of other folks during selected days.
Old Oct 25th, 2003, 03:52 PM