Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Recomm for Hotels in Rome and Venice - specific ?? inside

Old Mar 11th, 2004, 06:31 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am going to Rome and Venice at the very end of August (not my first choice, but my school schedule is brutal). I will be there 8 days/7nights - 5 nights in Rome and 2 in Venice. It is my first time to Europe, and I am seeking hotel recommendations.

I am looking to be centrally located, 3 or 4 star hotels - something that doesn't feel to "Americanized". Roof decks are a plus

For Rome I have been looking at:
-Hotel Cesari (1st choice)
-Hotel Genio
-Viminale

Any other suggestions?

As for Venice, I have no idea where to start (I am not as familiar with the areas as I am in Rome). Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks much in advance!
Old Mar 11th, 2004, 06:42 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Darn...seem to have left out a couple of things. I am looking to stay around $1800pp for two. Airfare is about $1100 each, so I have about $1400 total to spend on hotels (around $200USD per night).

Nothing is booked just yet, so any suggestions will be taken seriously. I also toyed very much with the idea of staying in Rome all 7 nights and taking only a day trip to Pompeii, but my boyfriend would very much like to get to Venice (and since the whole trip was my idea, I feel a compromise might be in order!).
Old Mar 12th, 2004, 04:31 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We are staying in hotels in your price range.

In rome
Relais Banchi Vecchi... a new small B&B which looks great!
www.banchivecchi115.com

In Venice we are staying at Locanda Ca Amadi.
www.caamadi.com

Good luck!
Old Mar 12th, 2004, 04:55 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We stayed at Relais Banchi Vecchi last week and it was brilliant, clean, comfortable, spacious, air con, fridge, tv.
Old Mar 12th, 2004, 05:03 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts