Search

Re'stamp Passport Question!!

Search this Thread

Old Nov 15th, 2003, 05:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re'stamp Passport Question!!

hey everyone,
i need some help! i have been travelling thru italy for close to 3 months (in two weeks i will finish my original travel plans) i know i also am only allowed 90 days according to the italian law. does anyone know what i can do to stay another three months. i have heard i can leave the country for 24 hours, get my passport re stamped and then return. does this qualify me to stay without any hassle? i am currently in southern italy but my hope is to return to florence... and will my passport get stamped again if i am not technically travelling internationallY! that is my first question, second is... can i rent a room in an apt without any type of permit and can i seek employment without a visa in the hopes that a potential employer might be able to handle the paperwork should i be offered a position! need help ASAP!! thanks everyone... r
Old Nov 15th, 2003, 06:42 AM

I would suggest that you contact an American Embassy or Consulate office in Italy for the official word rather than relying on us amateurs.
Old Nov 15th, 2003, 07:51 AM

Latter post..excellent advice. Ex-patriates in Poland regularly travel to Germany at end or just before expiration of 3 month limit. Passport is stamped upon re-entering Poland. Three more months! Lots of problems here if you overstay 3 month limit.
Old Nov 15th, 2003, 09:51 AM

Technically, you can only be in the Schwengen Act countries for 90 days out of 180 days. Leaving italy and coming back in will do you no good whatsoever. You technically need to leave the Scwhengen area for the next 90 days and then come back in.