Reload this Page >

Questions to ask when booking air

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 12th, 2002, 12:02 PM
Deirdra

Now besides the usual arrival and departures times and places and money what other important questions would you ask when booking your flight. How far ahead did you book. I'm leaving mid May for two weeks. I plan to book everything myself either via the internet or direct calls to the airlines. I've never done this before and could use some advice NOT snippy comments PLS.

Old Aug 12th, 2002, 12:07 PM
Liz

I found good fares for late May, early June in mid-February this year. I had been watching carefully for a while. Prices only went lower once, about a week AFTER I bought. Oh well, only $30.

Old Aug 12th, 2002, 12:08 PM
Janice

I would start looking at air fares now, but not book anything (unless you see something less than - maybe $300) until after Christmas. The more you look, the more comfortable you will become with the fluctuations in prices, and the more you will have an idea of what an appropriate and reasonable fare is. Otherwise, just make sure that you're flying on the actual airline - or if it a "codeshare" what airline it is. (for example, to fly from Chicago to Madrid, if you book through American, you usually fly Iberia - NOT the same quality) Ask what their policies are for carry-on luggage, what kind of plane it is - seating configuration, in-flight entertainment etc. But mostly just pick a price you can live with, buy the tickets, and enjoy the other aspects of planning. The flight is just the boring tedious part of the vacation.... Good luck.

Old Aug 12th, 2002, 12:10 PM
JP