Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Questions about business travel in Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/questions-about-business-travel-in-europe-650511/)

Meredith Oct 2nd, 2006 06:20 PM

Questions about business travel in Europe

Hi there, everyone,

I am headed to Amsterdam on business at the end of the month (wooohoooo!!!) and have a few simple, possibly idiotic questions. I have traveled to Europe many times on my own dime, but this is my first time traveling on business. I was wondering... do taxi drivers give receipts? And is it rude or unusual to ask for separate checks at restaurants?

Now, obviously, plenty of other businessmen and women travel throughout Europe, so I would think these are common practices - but I just want to make sure I can get properly reimbursed for my expenses.

Thanks!
Meredith

mvor Oct 2nd, 2006 06:42 PM

Hi Meredith,

You should have no problem getting a receipt from a taxi in Amsterdam (just ask).

As for seperate checks, that gets more complicated. I've found during business travel that it's more important to know who is hosting the dinner, i.e. who's paying. Are you the host? Or are you just enjoying dinner w/colleagues? Once you figure that out then it's easy to ask up front for a seperate check if need be.

I wouldn't be suprised if most of your company dinners are expensed by the local office (unless you're there asking them to do something--then you'd pay).

Enjoy your trip!

walkinaround Oct 2nd, 2006 09:21 PM

yes, all real taxis will give receipts.

as for the bill splitting, your question can be taken on two levels.