Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Puglia, Matera, and Surrounds in February and March

Dec 1st, 2019, 03:57 PM
Original Poster

My wife and I will be spending 4 weeks in Puglia, Matera, and surrounding areas in February and March and would love some help figuring out where to go.
We plan to travel as much as possible with public transport, trains and busses, but will rent a car when necessary. We love the outdoors, food, wine, history, and art. We particularly like finding local places where we can start to get the feel for how life is for the locals. We will probably stay in 4 or 5 towns for several days, Matera, Lecce and others.

We would love to have any and all suggestions and would be quite appreciative.
Dec 2nd, 2019, 06:27 PM
kja

Matera and Lecce are great choices. I'm not an expert, but think Puglia is rather quiet at that time of year, so would suggest that you might want to look at some of the larger cities, perhaps Trani and / or Bari. I wish I could be more help and hope that my comment tops your thread and brings some other attention to your question.
Dec 3rd, 2019, 06:46 AM

The big "German" castles and the caves of Castellana as well as all museums can be visited all the year round. HIkes to the Trulli in the Alberobello area are possible too. Scenic hill cities like Cisternino, Martina Franca, Matera, etc. are never "closed", because local people live there.The province of Bari is full of almond trees which are blooming in February.
The ferrries to the Tremiti Islands will run only twice daily and only from Termoli, a nice small fortified city with it's famous trabucchi.
Taranto is a (much bigger) fortified old city too, but some parts of it are considered as rather unsafe for foreign tourists.
The 4 railway companies
Ferrovie Apulo Lucane
Ferrovie del Sud Est
Ferrovie del Gargano
Trenitalia
run all the year round.
So do SitaSud and the many smaller bus companies.
Dec 3rd, 2019, 07:05 AM