Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Prague/Krakow/Dresden or Madrid/Toledo/Barcelona? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/prague-krakow-dresden-or-madrid-toledo-barcelona-329100/)

vamoodys Jun 19th, 2003 08:58 AM

Prague/Krakow/Dresden or Madrid/Toledo/Barcelona?

Hi all, I am a long time lurker, though this is my first time posting. Sorry for the length of the post - I'm trying to be as detailed as possible so you know where I'm coming from.

You know you can't complain when your biggest problem is deciding on where to go on your next European trip...

My husband and I are currently deciding where to go for our 8-day (not including air travel) trip at the end of August/beginning of September. We've narrowed it down to Prague/Krakow/Dresden or Madrid/Toledo/Barcelona.

You may think that those combinations of cities are a lot for an 8-day trip. We are speedy travelers - you should see some of my husband's itineraries. This is a good thing though -- I have a hyperactive husband who would be miserable sitting on a beach somewhere, and he would make me miserable in turn. If I can manage to spend an hour or so reading or picnicking in a park, or having good hot chocolate at a cafe, then it's a good compromise for us. And I can sometimes manage to get a spa afternoon out of the deal.

We are seasoned European travelers - over the past two years of marriage we have honeymooned in Austria/Switzerland/Northern Italy, and taken trips from 4 to 14 days to London, Paris, Northern England/Wales, Florence/Rome, and Scandinavia.

Spain's been on my to-do list forever, Prague's been on my husband's list just as long. This will probably be the last big trip we take before we have kids. Hopefully, once we have kids, we'll still be able to take trips to "easy" places like the UK.

We like: art, architecture, history, and clean/safe cities.