Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Portugal - Head North from Lisbon or South (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/portugal-head-north-from-lisbon-or-south-816097/)

Rocky Nov 30th, 2009 05:50 AM

Portugal - Head North from Lisbon or South

We have two weeks in Portugal at the beginning of May. We are trying to determine with the amount of time we have, should we focus on the North or the South. We are planning on exploring (not sitting on the beach), so we want more "sites". Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

GoAway Dec 1st, 2009 03:48 PM

Ah, two weeks in northern Portugal - sounds like a trip to heaven! Of course, you need to take that with a grain of salt, I have no experience with southern Portugal.

We spent just a little over 9 days travelling from Lisbon to Batalha, east to Serra da Estrela and Chacim, then back west to Barcelos. Not anywhere near enough time.

HappyTrvlr Dec 1st, 2009 06:36 PM

We spent two wonderful weeks traveling north from Lisbon.We visited many historic and cultural sites and highly recommend this itinerary.

Sher Dec 1st, 2009 06:51 PM

Our last three vacations have been in Portugal. And still there is so much for us to see. Not that you can't do the country justice in two weeks, you can. You just cannot see all of Portugal and enjoy it in 14 days.
To date, we have not visited the Algarve. It is beautiful. And the sea is enjoyable. But if you are not beach people, I wouldn't include that part on this trip.
We have always arrived and departed from Lisbon. And today I could gladly spend a week there. But there are so many enjoyable places to visit.