Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Planning first Solo Backpacking in Europe! (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/planning-first-solo-backpacking-in-europe-1011698/)

rachrachelrach Apr 16th, 2014 09:22 PM

Planning first Solo Backpacking in Europe!

Hi all,

I'm a newbie who will be solo-backpacking Europe for a month plus in September and have no idea how to plan my route!

Here are some of the places I have in mind (but doesn't seem very straightforward to travel):
London, Amsterdam, Paris, Prague, Budapest, Porto, Barcelona, Rome, Athens & Greek Islands

Would really appreciate some help here! Am i being over-ambitious? Any other destinations I should be adding into this list?

Thank you very much!

anyegr Apr 16th, 2014 10:21 PM

Exactly how many days will you have? If it's only one month you will spend most of it moving from one place to the next. If it's closer to two months it would be better.

Do you actually want to see anything in the places you go to, or do you only want to be able to tell your friends that you have been to all those places?

Some people will tell you that it is impossible to see any big city in one or two days. I think it really depends on what you want to see and do. If you don't care about museums and castles and sightseeing walks, you don't need as much time.

Make a list of what you actually want to see and do in each of the places you want to visit. If you can't list three things for one place, maybe you should drop it.

Get a map and mark all your destinations on it. Some are close and you can easily go between them by train or bus. Other places would be better to fly between.

In September I would start in the north and go south, to get a better chance at nice weather.

janisj Apr 16th, 2014 11:21 PM

>> . . . for a month plus . . . <<