Search

places to visit inland from Valencia

Search this Thread

Old Jun 29th, 2005, 06:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
places to visit inland from Valencia

Hi folks,
Maybe my question about road trips was too broad. So let me try again as I'm sure there is someone out there with thoughts to share.

I want to take a car for a few days and trek off into the countryside. I have explored car rental on the web and of course you can't hire a car just anywhere; and options for one-way hire are limited unless you are going major centre to major centre.

I don't think I can handle arriving at Barajas, picking up a car and negotiating the traffic as a total beginner on right hand side driving (and I will not have a navigator). So I thought I would make Valencia my starting (and returning) point.

I have some ideas. But what would you do?
Trip duration 2-3 days. Interested in landscape, villages, just being there. Not fussed about special places to eat or stay - as long as one can do both somehow!

I will be bussing or training-it to Barcelona later.

Thanks for all and any input.
Old Jun 29th, 2005, 06:53 AM

If you only have 2 or 3 days in Valencia I won't tell you to move too much. Sagunto is half an hour north from Valencia (most of it free motorway, easy to drive, it deserves a visit.
A really interesting place for villages and landscape is the Maestrazgo, which it's Castellon province (where I live ) but it's 2 hours drive from Valencia. There you can visit Morella in the mountains, Peñiscola at the seaside, it's beautiful. It's more or less half way between Valencia and Barcelona so I don't know if you really want to drive so much
Old Jun 29th, 2005, 07:41 AM

inland towns i think you would like and they are doable, some of them, with NO CAR.

cuenca.. from madrid/train or bus. 2 hours. lovely small town but has university,a nd unusual rock formation 20 km outside of town. hanging houses also intown , a parador also. it is halfway to valencia.