My Trip to Calabria

Search

My Trip to Calabria

Search this Thread

Old May 13th, 2011, 05:26 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Trip to Calabria

A few years ago a friend told me about a research study that stated the fastest way to learn another language was out of necessity. Well this turned out to be true on my recent trip to Calabria. About 7 years ago I studied Italian through a travel tape. I used some of this knowledge on that trip, but not much. I then returned to Italy 4 years ago and studied the tape again and used more of what I learned. This time I have no tape deck and I just didn’t get around to buying a CD. So I had to pull out every word I remembered, some words I thought were gone from my memory bank, and some words I invented to get me by. I was throwing around phases and my hands. I was able to communicate, but I had a headache after long conversations.
Let me start at the beginning. My DH and I are about to retire, therefore you know my age. My thought was, buy an apartment in Calabria. Winters would be sunnier and warmer than northeast USA. My husband and I could use the apartment for March and April, maybe February. The rest of the family (children and our small grandchildren) could use it whenever they wanted. My sister was interested in getting in the idea so now she and I were on a quest to buy an apartment in Calabria. It all sounds so wonderful. We had an appointment with a real estate agent, high hopes, and some money to part with.