Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Photography Oportunities and Restrictions in Italy

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 11:05 AM
Kim

Generally, what restrictions are there regarding photography in Italy? Specifically, are you permitted to take pictures of the statue of David in Florence? I will be travelling to Florence, Siena, Pisa, and Rome, and, as a professional photographer, I want as many quality photographs as I can get! Is there any venue that does not allow you even to bring cameras into the building? I have no problem with leaving them in my bag, but I don't want to leave them at the door.

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 11:27 AM
David

Most museums and churches that I have been to in Italy permit photography, but prohibit using a flash. That said, there are usually plenty of people in these places using cameras with automatic flashes.

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 12:07 PM
Jim Tardio

Specifically, NO photos are allowed in the Sistine Chapel, or of the statue of David.

Some churches and museums prohibit photography as well...most prohibit flash. I'va always been allowed in with my cameras and never had to leave them at the door.

For the most part, Italy is a fun and wide-open place to photograph. You shouldn't have any problems.

http://www.jimtardio.com/italy.html

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 12:36 PM
Howard

Jim, are you sure about the statue of David? When we were there in November 1999, not only was photographing the statue allow, but they didn't stop people using the flash! Interestingly, that was only part of the Accademia, where flash was allowed!
Otherwise, Jim and David are quite right. Most places do allow cameras...and flash is allowed more often than you would expect! However, some places do not allow tripods.

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 12:38 PM
Dori

I was just in Florence. I was the only one who wasn't taking pictures of David. It's allowed.

Old Oct 3rd, 2002, 12:58 PM
Lisa