Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   PARIS-VIENNA-LISBON-ATHENS-LONDON?? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/paris-vienna-lisbon-athens-london-34529/)

sally Nov 13th, 1998 07:02 PM

PARIS-VIENNA-LISBON-ATHENS-LONDON??

We won a first class trip for 2--all expense paid trip to one of the above destinations for 7 days--will be going between march and june--never been overseas....PLEASE HELP--I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO GO!!??!!

anne Nov 14th, 1998 05:36 AM

My first reaction is PARIS! We never tire of that wonderful city, and there's more than enough to fill 7 days, as well as easy train access to other areas if you want to get out of the city and into the country for a day or 2. <BR>

Stefan Nov 14th, 1998 11:58 AM

Hi Sally, <BR>I'm a Swiss student living near Basel. I have been to London three times (last time in April 1998) and I really do love that city. But I love the States too, so I would say I'm somewhat anglophile. I have also been to Paris, but that's quite some time ago and I don't remember it too well any more - But I do remember that it was wonderful too. So if you would like to see something really different from what you have in the States (I mean the big cities) I would recommend Paris too. It really is worth a 7 day visit. However, if you would like to feel a little bit more 'at home', go to London. Vienna and Lisbon are nice too (as far as I've heard) and of Athens I only know that in summer it is awfully smoggy. So London or Paris would be me favorites, in your place, I'd go to Paris, I think.

Paciano Diaz Nov 14th, 1998 02:42 PM

Sally, I have only been to Lisbon and Athens. Lisbons is ok but 3-4 days is plenty. We enjoyed Athens because the history and ruins. I would be ideal to spend 3-4-5 days in Athens then on to a Greek Isle.

Bill Fleites Nov 14th, 1998 07:55 PM