Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Paris,Venice/lade region,Amalfi, or Greece-Desperately need some direction!!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 17th, 2001, 07:21 AM
Denise

Please tolerate my indecision. I have been using this board for over 4 years and have found it very helpful. Next year is our 25th wedding anniversary. I have to take off in July because I work with disabled children. WE have 2 weeks. Both are in our mid to late 40's. I have always wanted to visit the Amalfi Coast area, the Greek isles, and Venice. So many recommend Paris, but I hate to admit it but I am afraid of the recent posts about the rudeness of Parisians. I may get intimidated because I don't speak a word of French, but would learn some phrases ahead of time as I do for any other place. <BR>We have been to Rome, Florence, Lucca, Siena, Orvieto (our favorite) Montecatini. WE love Italy and it's food. Have to admit that Rome was our least favorite mainly because we were coming from Orvieto and enjoyed the smaller cities. But did enjoy the Vatican, St. Peters, Coloseum, etc. Did love Florence-seeing "David", and stumbling upon the Duomo the first time. The Uffizi was too much however. Appreciated it but how many Madonna's and child can one see? Been to Prague-found it enchanting. Been to Vienna-enjoyed it but nothing special. Visited Munich and enjoyed our first experience in Europe, although the cuisine wasn't much besides the great beer (which I never liked before! and the pretzels, fruit and cheese). <BR>CONCERNS: We have 2 weeks. Will the Greek isles be enough? will Amalfi coasts cities be unbearably crowded, will the French intimidate me with their arrogance? <BR>We are from NYC so we are used to cities and mass transit and God knows -rude people. <BR>Can anyone help me decide?.I know it is utlimately our decision but I thought I would ask anyway. <BR> <BR>Hope you can help, <BR>Denise

Old Aug 17th, 2001, 07:58 AM
Kim