Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Paris + another country travel trip. (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/paris-another-country-travel-trip-935826/)

jerrylai May 20th, 2012 06:25 AM

Paris + another country travel trip.

Travellers,

I am travelling into Paris reaching 22nd June n leaving 5th July from Paris.I will staying near Orly area with a friend while in Paris. This is my first time in Europe. Some of my friends told me 13 days is a little overkill in Paris alone and suggested I visit another country while I am there. I tend to agree but have difficulty determining which country to visit. I am on a shoestring budget and in desperate need of help in planning this 13 days trip. Any advice on the perfect itinerary is appreciated,

Thanks a lot.

Jerry.

valtor May 20th, 2012 06:52 AM

France is a big country and has a lot to offer to a visitor. Why not remain in France for all 13 days?
You do not tell us what you want to see (nature, cities, architecture, museums, castles, history..).
Any case, I would like to visit Paris for 5 days (maybe including Versailles for 1/2 day), 4 days Normandy and 4 days the castleson Loire Valley.

Regarding visiting Paris, it will be easier to stay in Paris than near Orly.

Apres_Londee May 20th, 2012 07:06 AM

London, Amsterdam, Belgium are all easily accessible by train. Or you could fly to another city for your second week. Berlin is apparently quite affordable.

I personally don't like the heat so I would avoid Spain or Italy in July, but they are possibilities too- Barcelona or Rome, for example.