Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Opera in Italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/opera-in-italy-692918/)

sorriso Apr 1st, 2007 04:43 AM

Opera in Italy

I'm just now getting over the fact that our London/Netherlands trip for December 2006 didn't happen (but was substituted with a great Sedona/LasVegas trip in January) and am planning on a trip to northern Italy in either spring or fall of 2008 (more time to save the $$$ so we actually go!).

A life dream of mine is to experience my first opera in Italy, La Scala or La Fenice; I think big. I am aware that it's quite the project for La Scala tickets and hopefully planning a year out will be to my benefit.

Because I'm an opera novice I don't know how the season goes. Do both houses present operas in the fall and spring?

What comments/tips do you have for me? I have printed out Viaggio Sempre's post re: La Scala.

Thank you,
Linda

MademoiselleFifi Apr 1st, 2007 05:15 AM

http://www.teatroallascala.org/publi.../EN/index.html

It not only shows how many tickets are left for each night but also exactly where those seats are on a color-coded chart.

Order tickets as soon as you know your itinerary-- some performances sell out quickly. Go to La Scala if you can; the rebuilt La Venice was a little disappointing (at least when the decor was seen up-close from the cheapest seats-- maybe it still looks grand fron the orchestra level).

MademoiselleFifi Apr 1st, 2007 05:17 AM

I meant "La Fenice" of course.

Girlspytravel Apr 1st, 2007 05:56 AM

I happen to think that La Fenice is the most beautiful opera house in Italy-I was just there three weeks ago for the opening of "Francesca da Rimini"-loved it-I always love going to La Fenice, I feel very Venetian when I do. The ceiling frescos are stunning, and if you've not seen it, you must.