Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Only 5 days in Greece, should I just stay in Athens? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/only-5-days-in-greece-should-i-just-stay-in-athens-763417/)

Ari11 Jan 25th, 2009 01:30 AM

Only 5 days in Greece, should I just stay in Athens?

Hi- I am travelling solo (preferably budget) and have 5 days in Greece.

Given the short time period, should I bother going to one of the Islands? And if so which one? I'd love to go somewhere picturesque and relaxing. Are there alot of solo travellers in the islands, or is it mainly couples and honeymooners?

Or will there be enough in Athens and surrounds for the 5 days.

Thanks for your help and input.

sheila Jan 25th, 2009 01:37 AM

Don't stay in Athens. I'm not an expert on the area round about, but I'm certain you should move out. Others will advise bettter where

cristine27 Jan 25th, 2009 03:32 AM

Hi Ari11,.
when are you coming and what is the main purpose of the trip?
Also it's important to know where you coming from (regarding jet lag)

You will have 5 full days?

sallyjane3 Jan 25th, 2009 03:57 AM

Definitely NOT!! This is one city that, IMHO, you should spend a couple of days in and then get out of Dodge. By all means, go to an island. I went to Santorini and LOVED it. It is beautiful and seems like a different world from Athens, It's definitely a different Greece!

NikolettaG Jan 25th, 2009 04:08 AM

Ari - Greece in March is very different from Greece in May, or August. We can't help you unless you tell us WHEN you will be travelling. Athens, however, in MY humble opinion, is fantastic ALL year round!

telechick Jan 25th, 2009 04:51 AM