Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   On A Budget- Airline Questions?? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/on-a-budget-airline-questions-386646/)

LovinAGermanGuy Jan 12th, 2004 06:00 PM

On A Budget- Airline Questions??

Previously I have posted that I will making a trip to Germany this coming summer. I will be there from June to July. For the past few months I have looked for airline deals and I have not seen much change in prices. When do you think is the best time to book a flight? I have never done this before, so I am wondering what you experienced Fodorites could tell me. I'm not really desperate, but I am disappointed to see prices ranging over $1200. I am hoping for cheaper prices because I am only a teenager on a strict budget. My parents are helping me out, and I will be going. I just don't want to break their pocket book too much. Thanks.

McBetsy Jan 12th, 2004 06:14 PM

Prices are highest during summer. You should be able to find a cheaper flight than 1200 though. I buy for summer by March, but I go through a consolidator travel agent. Travel Team is a consolidator that has a website and its a place to start, but any consolidator will have the lowest price. They buy tickets in bulk and then sell them at the lowest prices. There are many on the web and a search will help. I don't know where you live, but I live on the West coast and would be able to get to Frankfurt on an open jaw, (leaving from a different city), at around 1,000 with taxes. Round trip from the same airport should be less.

Betsy Jan 12th, 2004 06:22 PM