Okay to drive in Switzerland alone?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 2004, 09:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi! My boyfriend's company is having a conference in Lugano, Switzerland this June and I will be tagging along for the week. I will mostly be spending the daytime exploring on my own while he is at work, and I wanted to get your opinions on whether or not driving by myself is safe (assuming I follow common sense practices). I'm 26, and I am really good at navagating by map, but I've never driven alone in a foreign country.

The reason I am specifically interested in driving is because I am a photographer and I don't want to be restricted too much by public transportation, though I understand it is excellent. Every time I travel I drive because I love to pull over whenever I see something photogenic.

Also, any opinions on Smart cars? I am on a budget and I can only drive automatic transmissions...a Smart car seemed like a good solution.

Thanks in advance for your answers!
Susan
Old May 10th, 2004, 09:51 AM
rex

I would say go for it (even beter if a friend could help you learn to drive manual transmission in the next month before you leave, since it would save you hundreds of dollars, and be a lifelong useful skill) - - you won't be far from Lake Como (less than an hour from Lugano to Menaggio). You would surely love a visit to Villa Balbianiello.

Best wishes,

Rex
Old May 10th, 2004, 09:53 AM

I don't see why you shouldn't drive alone in Switzerland. However, you should know that a SMART is smaller than anything you've drove on, and probably anything you're rode on including a golf cart. You may not feel comfortable or safe if you're not prepared for its size, as it's about 1,600lb, 8.25 feet long. [In contrast, a Ford Focus is 14 feet long.] And top speed is limited to 84MPH. I wouldn't really try it on a autobahn.
Old May 10th, 2004, 09:57 AM
Singletail