Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Nottingham or Newcastle? Please Help! (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/nottingham-or-newcastle-please-help-441674/)

tmacgolf Jun 11th, 2004 02:53 PM

Nottingham or Newcastle? Please Help!

Hi - I am a college student from the U.S. (Illinois) who will be studying in the UK next semester! My choices are between Nottingham and Newcastle? I have no idea??!! I have been reading the information from the Universities but wanted to get some advice from someone who actually has been in these areas. Any Pros and Cons on these areas and these universities would be very much appreciated! I have to decide by June 15! Thank you :)

cigalechanta Jun 11th, 2004 03:07 PM

I haven't been to Newcastle, but spent a week-end in Nottingham that I found very pleasant. Though I was visiting a British family, I was about by myself during the day and felt welcome everywhere I stopped.

tmacgolf Jun 11th, 2004 03:13 PM

Thank you ~ I was so excited that I got a reply! I'm leaning more towards Nottingham because somewhere it said Newcastle was a "blue collar town" More replies are welcome!! :)

Mucky Jun 11th, 2004 03:22 PM

Hi tmacgolf,
doesn't it depend upon what you are studying?
Some universities are more renowned for their subjects than others. Try to keep this in mind.
Otherwise try to consider the difficulties you might come up against in these places. With full respect to Newcastle but I can't understand a word they say and I am a South Walien brit.I am sure they have difficulty with my accent too.So be careful.

Muck

cigalechanta Jun 11th, 2004 03:28 PM

I agree, it should be what's the better school for you.
Mucky, my friends took me to Snowdownia on that trip to another friend's home.. I loved the area but wasn't crazy over Cardif, but must go back and not judge by week-end visits.

t_racy1402 Jun 11th, 2004 03:55 PM