Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Northern Italy Itinerary (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/northern-italy-itinerary-555657/)

TravelingDan Aug 31st, 2005 01:40 PM

Northern Italy Itinerary

I am very new to Fodors and decided to try to solicit some help from fellow members. Here are the details of my upcoming trip:

I will be traveling in one year to Northern Italy(August/September) and need help this far in advance because I am using skymiles to get to Europe from the states.

My wife will be with me (she has never been to Europe) and we are more interested in the sites and culture rather than history or art.

We will have 8-9 days in Northern Italy. I have done some research and tried to read through previous posts about travel to Northern Italy.

We will most likely fly into Milan because our first stop will be CT. I have no idea if I should stay one day in Milan after my flight before I take the train to CT to relatives.

So I have 8 days to think of a golden circle around northern Italy before I fly back out of Milan. Here are the areas that interest us:

CT (2 days)

Lake Area (most forums say not to miss Bellagio)

Dolomites (most forums say not to miss Val Gardena area)

Venice

I just do not know which way to go after CT- toward Venice or back toward the Lake area. Any areas that are not to miss in this circle? We will most likely rent a car to get to lake area and Dolomites. Also help is needed in if the itinerary is too ambitious. Yes, I know that one could spend 8 days just in Venice or 8 days in CT.

Thank You.

ellenem Sep 1st, 2005 06:42 AM

The natural circle seems to be

Milan arrival
CT
Venice
Dolomites
Lakes
Milan departure

This gives you barely 2 days in each area, less when you include the travel time between each.

ira Sep 1st, 2005 06:54 AM

Hi TD,

I agree with ellen, too much for only 8-9 days.