Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Northern Germany Help Needed (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/northern-germany-help-needed-707691/)

wanderfrau May 24th, 2007 08:31 AM

Northern Germany Help Needed

Greetings

Please be patient, I am new to Fodors, and my request seems to have gotten lost. I apologize in advancce if you see this twice.

I need to do some very fast planning for a trip to Northern Germany, specifically to the Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern areas. We normally don’t wait until the last minute like this, so I’m way behind the power curve here. We have traveled through many parts of Germany previously and this is one area we have not seen. We chose it because we do not usually travel in June and it seems like the perfect time for this part of the country – before too many crowds and the potential for some good weather.

My husband and I arrive in Köln on 19 June, 0830. We plan to drive about 4 hours to Lübeck and spend the night. We aren’t willing to do much more driving than that our first day. We have already seen the Mosel and Rhine valleys and we would prefer something new this time.

After that first day in Lübeck, we will have 7 full days to explore the area. We plan to use 27 June as a travel day. We need to be on the German Wine Road for a wedding on 28 June.

Besides Lübeck, we would to like to split our time between two locations and do day trips, if this is feasible. We would like to see Red cliffs near Kampen, Rostock, Strasland, and Rügen, but I’m not sure what is manageable, given the distances involved. I need suggestions for base locations, hotels/pensions, additional “must see” sights/towns and restaurants.