Noise canceling headphones

Jun 11th, 2001, 12:14 PM
Jeannette

Noise canceling headphones

Has anyone tried noise canceling headphones? We're heading to Italy in a few weeks and I bought a pair to try this weekend on my trip to Boston.

Jun 12th, 2001, 07:19 AM
Bill

Since I bought my Sennheisers two years ago, I won't fly without them. Even if you don't have them plugged in to the aircraft's entertainment system, they cancel out the background noise and make it much easier to relax, sleep, etc.... I make my living as a audio mixer, so to me it's a big deal. If you do plug them in to watch the movie, you'll actually hear the dialog. I'm not sure how well all the models out there work. I can recommend Sennheiser and Bose, but those are on the higher end of the price spectrum ($200-300). There are less expensive ones available, but they may not work as well. If you're not familiar with the theory behind these headphones, there is a microphone on each earpiece. The microphone picks up external sound and then reverses the phase of that external sound causing it to cancel itself out.

Jun 12th, 2001, 08:50 AM
Cass

These sound miraculous, but aren't they bulky? How large are the ear pieces, how much room does the whole thing take up? (And where do you find them? Any chain stores or only specialty shops?)

Jun 12th, 2001, 09:20 AM
james

United has this system built in on some planes. I used it between London and LAX and found it very worthwhile. Don't imagine that it will eliminate all noise though!

Jun 12th, 2001, 09:49 AM
Jeannette

I bought a $50 pair at BestBuy. We do travel a bit so I might invest in a higher end pair if these don't do the job.

Jun 12th, 2001, 10:03 AM
Gerry

What can you use to cancel out noise if you are trying to sleep in a noisey hotel room? Could you sleep with headphones on? Any other suggestions?

Jun 12th, 2001, 11:50 AM
Bill