Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   No Red Velvet please-Paris hotel review (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/no-red-velvet-please-paris-hotel-review-789509/)

frenchwow Jun 11th, 2009 11:32 AM

No Red Velvet please-Paris hotel review
 
looking for a 3 star, in the 5th or 6th under 200usd/night
want a large room with a luggage check for a evening Paris departure
very close to a metro
considering:Claude Bernard,NDMaitre d'Albert,Villa Pantheon
Any experience in these hotels

hpeabody Jun 11th, 2009 11:55 AM

I stayed recently at the Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles which I think fits what you are looking for. It is in the latin quarter just up from the Cardinal Lemoines Metro stop on line 10. It is kind of near the Pantheon and Luxumbourg Gardens is walkable. The hotel is built around a courtyard and very lovely. I had a room that opens out to the courtyard on the ground floor. I believe the rate I paid was 125 Euros, but they have 114 & 115 euro rates, but most likely those are upstairs in the main building. It is not a fancy place at all, but I felt very comfortable like home. I did book it based on recommendations from here on Fodors. YOU NEED TO BOOK EARLY IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR SCHEDULE, IT SELLS OUT QUICKLY.

frenchwow Jun 11th, 2009 02:40 PM

thanks but it is already sold out for my Sept dates

bellairegirl Jun 11th, 2009 03:44 PM

I recently stayed at a lovely 2-star hotel in the 5th next to the Sorbonne that was recently renovated similar to a boutique-style hotel -- Hotel de la Sorbonne. It was less than $200/night for the room we stayed in (not the smallest; I think it was called a Superior).

carmar Jun 11th, 2009 04:07 PM

Hotel Clement in the 6th. - great location near 2 Metro stops.
144 Euro per night.
http://www.clement-moliere-paris-hotel.com/
A 2 star but as good as any 3 star I've stayed in.

DeborahAnn Jun 12th, 2009 05:47 AM

We stayed at the Claude Bernard in August of 2006. Our stay was very comfortable but I do not remember our room being large. The location is certainly convenient to the metro. We chose the Claude Bernard for our stay in August because it had AC. Of course, that August we needed good heating not AC ;;) Deborah

Christina Jun 12th, 2009 09:17 AM

I do know one hotel that fits the requirement, except it sort of has a little red velvet -- maybe, the photos looks like the drapes may be red velvet in one style room and the wallpaper is a pattern with red flocking (I think only on one wall), and the desk chair is upholstered in a red fabric. But it's not one of those frou-frou hotels with Louis whatever furniture. I actually stayed there one night last Fall and liked it very much, and the room was quite large for Paris for that price. It is just off bd St Michel on rue Vaugirard and thus about a block or two to the Luxembourg RER stop. (some mapping systems put it in the middle of Lux Gardens, but it's not, it's just off bd St Michel and thus is actually not that noisy). It's actually in the middle between the Cluny metro and the Lux. RER stop, so about two blocks from either.

That is the 3* Hotel Trianon
http://www.hoteltrianonrivegauche.com/

They have what they call "king size" double rooms, meaning large in size, and they are still much under 200 euro if you book online. It's a very nice hotel.

ira Jun 12th, 2009 10:59 AM

Hi FW,
In Paris, we always stay at the Hotel Bonaparte, 61 Rue Bonaparte in the 6th. Large rooms are about 157E dbl w/bkfst. It is just around the corner from Place St. Sulpice, near 3 metro stops and 4 bus routes. Has AC, an elevator and will store your luggage for you.

The staff speaks English well, and is very helpful. The front desk is staffed 24/7

They can arrange a shuttle pickup to/from CDG for you.

It is a very nice 2*.

Tel 33 1 43 26 97 37
FAX 33 1 46 33 57 67
[email protected]
www.hotelbonaparte.fr

For more info, enter "Hotel Bonaparte" in the "search the forum" box.

((I))

frenchwow Jul 13th, 2009 03:38 PM

Thanks all I booked it and can't change it from 1800 hotels.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:19 AM.