Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Night drive from Calais to Florence, Italy. (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/night-drive-from-calais-to-florence-italy-836640/)

jsf79 Apr 21st, 2010 02:44 AM

Night drive from Calais to Florence, Italy.

Hi,
Next Wednesday we're on the 20.30 ferry from dover to Calais and then are driving through the night to Florence Italy.
I have a lot of experience driving in France but less so in the rest of Europe, my natural inclanation is to drive through France as I'm comfortable with Autoroutes and Route Nationals but am aware that the price of Peage tolls has gone up in the last few years.
I'm thinking of driving through Germany instead but would be very greatful for advice on the pros and cons and also any reccomended routes.
Many Thanks, jsf79.

J62 Apr 21st, 2010 03:39 AM

The route through Strasbourg, Basel, Luzern, Milan would be the most direct. Detouring through Germany limits your options for crossing the Alps through Austria and northern Italy, and would be a longer route.

hetismij Apr 21st, 2010 03:45 AM

It is already a 13+ hour drive from Calais to Florence by the most direct route - through France, so why would you want to make it any longer by going through Germany, which makes it a 16+ hour trip?

I hope you are not planning to do this trip in one sitting.

alihutch Apr 21st, 2010 03:47 AM

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&so...ce&ie=UTF8&z=6

jsf79 Apr 21st, 2010 11:09 PM

Well, one hit but with plenty of stops and the driving shared betweeen 3 of us.
I used to to Valencia to Calais in one go, normally 12-13hours, on a regular basis and this isn't as far.
Any idea on the cost of tolls if we go via France?
Also, will I have to pay tax to go through Swiss and /or Austria?
Many thanks for the help already given,
jsf79.

Tulips Apr 21st, 2010 11:21 PM