Newbie help: Backpacking(ish) Mediterranean Itinerary

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 11th, 2010, 11:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi! I am in my first year of grad school and my sister is in college. We are looking to plan our first trip to Europe this summer and do a bit of back-packing/hostel/budget hotel staying (we are planning on using Trip Advisor to find lodging that will get the most for our $). The trip was originally only going to include Italy and Greece, but it is a ton cheaper to fly into Madrid (which we wanted to see anyways). Would you mind looking over my tentative schedule and letting me know if this is doable? I know we won't get to see it all, but our main focus is the traveling experience and a little taste of the Mediterranean. Here is what I came up with so far:

Fri- Leave Charlotte, NC (USA)
Sat- Arrive Madrid in AM (check in to hostel, rest, tapas, see a flamenco show)
Sun- Madrid (casual tour of city, tapas, etc)
Mon – FLY to Marseille around lunch time, take BUS/Train to Cassis (market, dinner)
Tues - Cassis (breakfast, calaques tour, beach)
Wed- BUS/Train to Marseille, FLY to Rome
ThuR - Rome
F - Rome
S – TRAIN to Florence for a winery tour/tasting (We are open to renting a car to drive outside the city in order to reach whatever winery), stay over night at winery
S – Leave Florence and train to Verona
M - Verona (tour city, outdoor opera)
T – TRAIN to VENICE
W - Venice
R - Venice
F – FLY to Athens and take over night ferry to Crete
S - Crete
S - Crete
M – Ferry to Ios
T - Ios
W - Ios
R – FERRY to Santorini
F – Santorini
S – Santorini
S- FERRY to Athens in AM, Check in to hotel and tour city a bit and stay overnight
M- Taxi to airport in AM, FLY home to Charlotte, NC (USA)

What do you guys think? I would appreciate any help/advice you can offer me! Thanks so much.
Old Mar 11th, 2010, 11:40 AM
Original Poster