Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Need quaint accomodations in Verona - any suggestions

Old Mar 29th, 2000, 03:40 PM
Shellyl M

We will be in Verona for 2 days in May. <BR>I am having trouble finding any recommendations. <BR>Prefer a no nonsense pension - <BR>Clean, quaint and kind. <BR> <BR>Can anyone help? <BR>Shelly M

Old Mar 29th, 2000, 03:55 PM
kay

Hi, <BR>I'm in the same boat...although I will be there in late June early July. I am looking for accomodations for 4 people. <BR>Thanks for posting! <BR>K.

Old Mar 30th, 2000, 02:35 AM
Paulo

Unfortunately I don't have a recommendation, Shelly. I stayed in a nice pension some 30 years ago, when I was a student, but I don't remember any details. In all subsequent visits be went by car and only stayed in the city centre once. But this was the 3-star Residence Hotel Castelvecchio. <BR> <BR>Kay, maybe you're not aware of it but by no means you're in the same boat ... You're planning to be there at the time of Verona's opera festival season opener, when all rooms in town will be booked. I recommend you to secure ANY rooms as soon as possible and only then shop around for better options. If you have a car, you should also consider staying out of town (either in Lake Garda or one of the surrounding villages like Bussolengo where we stayed last time). <BR> <BR>Anyways, info on hotels in Verona is given at <BR>http://turismo.regione.veneto.it/alb...ni/023091_.htm <BR> <BR>Paulo <BR>

Old Mar 30th, 2000, 04:49 AM
kay

Paolo,Thank you for the information. <BR>I will be staying in the Cinque Terre for a week before trying to make it back to Holland and we were hoping to visit there. I will follow your recommendation and try to stay outside of town! <BR>Thanks <BR>Kay

Old Mar 30th, 2000, 06:08 AM
Paulo