Reload this Page >

Need help/suggestions for TUSCANY & UMBRIA

Old Sep 7th, 2009, 10:12 AM
DAX
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

After 12 years we are planning to visit Tuscany & Umbria with friends: All 3 couples have been to most of the major Tuscany destinations, but some have never been to Umbria. I would appreciate Fodorite inputs to help optimize our 12 day trip. Our focus in Tuscany is Val d'Orcia.

Accomodation budget is 200-300 euros for comfortable hotels/small castles. Our priority however is wine & food, particularly truffle, all game and regional pastas & cheeses so I really need good restaurant recommendations. I studied Italian for one year and have learned the value of pre-trip vocab grammar reviews. We'll rent 2 cars.

Friday: Land in Pisa and stay in LUCCA (best hotel for 2 nights??),
Rent city bikes (where??), Restaurants recommendations??
Saturday: Stay in LUCCA , relax or bonus day trip to one/two towns in CINQUETERRE.
Need your opinions/suggestions.
Sunday: Drive to Val d'Orcia, stops in PISTOIA (restaurant?) &/or _____???
Best 3-4 night VAL D'ORCIA BASE : _______???
Mon,Tue, Wed: Wineries by appointment, in MONTALCINO, PIENZA,
MONTEPULCIANO (need markets in all??). Considering PITIGLIANO or other towns (need opinions & restaurants)
Thurs, Fri, Sat: Need an UMBRIAN BASE with GOOD HOTEL and restaurant.
Considering PERUGIA as I like the city except for fear of long traffic jam in & out of the city.
Daytrip: GUBBIO, ASSISI, TODI, considering SPELLO, SPOLLETO or NARNI (need restaurants & markets).

We are flexible with the number of days btw Umbria & Tuscany as long as we can fly out of Fiumicino on the 12th day (Sunday) staying closer to Rome on Saturday night.
Old Sep 7th, 2009, 10:17 AM
DAX
Original Poster

Sorry, I meant 10 day trip (Friday to Sunday)not 12 days
Old Sep 7th, 2009, 10:19 AM

DAX,
I have a large file for southern Tuscany. It is too big to post but e-mail me and I will send it. [email protected]

Henry