Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Need Help on Itinerary....Driving from Venice...then to Florence...then th Cinque Terrre

Need Help on Itinerary....Driving from Venice...then to Florence...then th Cinque Terrre

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 09:01 AM
Dick

We wil be flying in to Milan ..mid May and picking up a car.

It is getting late( we have our plane tickets) and I need to Finalize our itinerary so that I can make hotel reservations

We are thinking

Venice 3 nights
Florence 4 nights
Cinque Terre 3 nights
"OPEN" 3 nights
Milan 1 night

Does this make sense?

Since we will be flying in and out of Milan we want to spend the last night in Milan.
But we will still have 3 additional days( more or less if we change our basic itinerary.

Thanks, all, for your input.

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 04:55 PM
deborah

I'm not an expert, but I have a similar itinerary planned for July, except in reverse order. I wish I had an extra three days! From what I've read, the Lake Como area is wonderful. That's how I would spend my extra time.

Have fun!

If you need suggestions on hotels, e-mail me.

Deborah

Old Mar 12th, 2000, 05:27 AM
John

I had a similar trip in '98. I would spend the time in Venice and Florance, probbly tour around Tuscany. I would use the Cinque Terre to unwind, very quiet and beautiful..probably 3 days might be too much. If you feel up to it, a trip up to Aosta in the Itallian Alps would be fun! There is a beautful national park near Aosta(Can not remember the name right now!) or yu can head up into the town of Courmyeur (sp?) We left Courmyeur at 6 am and still made our flight which was leaving at 10 am in Milan

Old Mar 12th, 2000, 07:04 AM
BOB THE NAVIGATOR

Dick, That is a good itinerary you have
and your last stop is an obvious choice.
Malpensa airport is 30 Miles NW of Milan
and you are as close to it if you stay
at Lago Maggigore---Stresa is less than
an hour drive. Go to www.stresa.net for