Need advice on car rental

Old Aug 1st, 2002, 06:17 PM
Debbie

Need advice on car rental

I will be going to Italy next month and was hoing someone could give me advice on whether to rent from the US or over there. We will be leaving Rome and then renting. Is it easier to go by train to Orvieto or Chiusa and then rent? Thanks for any help.

Debbie

Old Aug 1st, 2002, 07:33 PM
StCirq

Debbie: It is ALWAYS advisable to rent from the US in advance, if you want to pay the lowest prices. Call AuroEurope at 1-800-223-5555 or go to www.autoeurope.com (I'm not affiliated with them in any way - have been renting from them for 12+ years, though). They will give you the best deal and match any better deal you get elsewhere.

You decided if you want to drive out of central Rome (personally, even though I've been driving in Europe for more than 25 years, driving in and near Rome makes me lose my cool). I'd take a train to someplace close by and pick up the car there.

Old Aug 1st, 2002, 07:36 PM
Betsy

Deb, definitely much less expensive to rent here in the US. A lot of Fodorites have been happy with Auto Europe, which has contracts with several agencies in Europe. You can explore their website, www.autoeurope.com and make your reservation on the net, or you can phone them (I like to talk with a human being when making a reservation). We picked up a car in Florence and returned it to Orvieto without any problems. It would probably be just as easy to take the train from Rome to Orvieto and pick up your car there.

Buon viaggio

Old Aug 1st, 2002, 07:37 PM
Betsy

Ya beat me to it, StC!

Old Aug 1st, 2002, 07:40 PM
Ann