Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Naples to Milan and beyond: How would you go?

Jun 10th, 2007, 09:04 AM
Original Poster

I'm helping my son and his fiance with honeymoon arrangements, and we need some advice! They'll be flying into Naples, spending a week in Amalfi and a week in Varenna (Lake Como), and flying out of Milan. My question is this: What's the best way to get from Amalfi to Varenna on Tuesday, July 10? Would it be better to fly (from Naples to Milan?) or to take the train? We can arrange for a driver to take them from Amalfi to Naples, but we're up in the air (figuratively) after that. I checked trenitalia.com, and it appears, for example, that there's a 9:48 am train that--with a change in Milan) gets them to Varenna at 5:19 pm. (I've never used this site before, so I hope I'm doing it right.) This seems fine, so maybe the train is best. If so, should they make reservations ahead of time? A previous poster on this board reported having his credit cards cancelled after using that website, so I'm a bit gun-shy.... In any case, thanks in advance for your advice!
Jun 10th, 2007, 10:07 AM
ira

Hi K,

After a week on the AC they are spending a week at a lake?

No Rome, No Florence, No Tuscany, NO VENICE????!!!!!

Oh well.

One nice way is to take the ferry to Salerno (docks are 3 blks from the train station) and then the train to Varenna.

The 19:21 night train requires a change in Naples, but gets to Milan at 07:15.

This gives them almost a full day on the AC and a day at Como.

They could also take the 20:36 from Naples (same train).

Jun 10th, 2007, 10:34 AM

If they are not interested seeing anything in between have them fly Naples to Milan,train to Como, ferry to Varenna.

But,no Rome, Florence ,or Venice.