Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Moving to Ireland- suggestions of where to live? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/moving-to-ireland-suggestions-of-where-to-live-601722/)

littlerandi Mar 23rd, 2006 09:02 AM

Moving to Ireland- suggestions of where to live?

Hello!

I recently wrote a post about travelling to Ireland this summer, but I think I'm going to move to Ireland in October and spend the year there instead. Now, I'm trying to decide where to live. I know Dublin is supposed to be amazing, but I also hear that it is tremendously expensive. Any suggestions of other places to live?

I'm 23 and I'm a very artsy person (I studied theatre and literature at university), I like big cities, but I also like the small town feel. I'll need to find a job where ever I live so I have to factor that into the living equation as well. I'm looking to meet lots of people as I know no one in Ireland...

Suggestions? Places you live/like?

Thanks!
Randi

Alec Mar 23rd, 2006 09:23 AM

Do you have an Irish or another passport from an EU country? Because everyone else needs a visa and one won't be readily issued without a work permit, for which you need a sponsorship from an Irish company.

bobludlow Mar 23rd, 2006 09:36 AM

Galway is a great town of 70,000 people on the west coast of Ireland with a lively music scene, beautiful medieval architecture, and an active Gaelic language subculture. Its local airport has direct flights across the UK and it is only 90 minutes from the Shannon International Airport.

Steeleyes Mar 23rd, 2006 10:50 AM

A second vote to give Galway serious consideration.

GreenDragon Mar 23rd, 2006 11:17 AM

You need to find out IF you can live and work there -- as Alec mentions, there are hoops to be jumped through for any change of country.