Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Most paintable town & villages in England?

Old Jun 2nd, 1997, 03:29 PM
Elizabeth Henderson

I'll be painting on location in England in September. All recommendations for paintable towns
and villages would be appreciated. Any suggestions
for B&B's will also be followed up on. Thanks

Old Jun 2nd, 1997, 03:53 PM
SteveG

Many Guidebooks say Chipping Campden in the Cotwolds has the finest High Street in England. I would have to agree based on my sample. Don't miss the fine thatched roof homes there either. I loved Grassington in the Yorkshire Dales. Peebles in the Scottish Borders was another favorite stop with a fine B&B called Minnebank. There are many wonderful scenes all along the Tweed River like Niedpath Castle high above the banks. Have fun!

Old Jun 3rd, 1997, 04:39 AM
Lanny

I don't paint,my son does, but I was a professional photographer at one point in my career, and so I am always looking for the perfect picture on my many trips to England (I have been going yearly for nearly two decades). We have a houseful of super realism pictures my son did from photos I shot in Chipping Campden -- a gorgeous Cotswolds village with many thatched huts, a wonderful High Street, as a previous writer indicated, and wonderful ruins of a Moorish influenced castle that was sacked during the English civil war. Visit also Bourton-on-the-Water, Stow-on-the-Wold and Broadway -- which used to be described as the prettiest village in England, all within spitting distance of Chipping Campden. You could spend your whole time in England painting in the Cotswolds. If you wander over to the Lakes district, my vote goes to Grasmere, and if you are in to wonderful waterfront images, then travel to the south coast and try painting Dartmouth from the top of the hill (on your way down to the ferry across the harbour), St. Ives, and the crags and ruins in and around Tintagel. Go crazy! Lanny