Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Most Enjoyable Route from Stansted to Toulouse?

Old Mar 26th, 2007, 09:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This July, we're staying for a few weeks with friends in a villa about half way between Toulouse and Barcelona. Having flown from Toronto to Paris two summers ago for around $450 USD each, I've had trouble adjusting to how much fares have increased since then.

HST, I've just found a RT fare Toronto to Standsted for around $600, and now we're thinking that we should consider either driving or taking the train from London to Toulouse.

I have no rail experience in Europe. Are we better off getting a Eurorail Pass, and catching the TGV on the French side? Or would you recommend the drive? We loved driving in from Paris to the Dordogne on our last trip. We have a fair amount of flexibility on dates, so have the luxury of considering various options.
Old Mar 26th, 2007, 09:40 AM

Received 11 Likes on 4 Posts
You could also consider flying from London to Toulouse on a budget airline. See www.whichbudget.com.
Old Mar 26th, 2007, 09:40 AM

I' sorry you aren't flying into Gatwick since there is budget airline service from there to Toulouse.

OTOH how about using the EasyJet service from Stansted to Barcelona and taking the train from there?
Old Mar 26th, 2007, 09:44 AM
ira

Hi M,

I don't think that want to drive a UK car in France, even if the rental agency will let you.

Have you looked for discount airlines from LON to Toulouse or Barcelona at www.whichbudget.com?

If you go by train, you will take the Eurostar from London Waterloo to Paris Nord.

Trains to Toulouse leave from Paris Montparnasse.

It might be cheaper to purchase a RT Eurostar ticket to Paris and another pair of tickets Paris/Toulouse.

See www.voyages-sncf.com.

Enjoy your visit.

Old Mar 26th, 2007, 09:49 AM