Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   More train question? Central Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/more-train-question-central-europe-673475/)

samuell Jan 24th, 2007 05:12 PM

More train question? Central Europe

To all you train expert out there, I am new at this and I am learning a lot from this forum.
Your suggestion/advise is much appreciated.
our travel plan is:
April 6, 07. Arrive Vienna from Marseille
Train to Budapest on April, 9.
Night train to Prague on the 12th.
Late train to Munich on 16th.
We fly home to Vancouver B.C. Morning of 18th from Munich.
What I have learnt from this forum:
point to point ticket is best (no rail pass), I can buy ticket when I arrive at each city? With a travel agent or at train station.
I have difficulty trying to figured out the different sites such as Bahn.de, Oebb.at for schedule, price information., even tried calling the toll free number on budgeteuropetravel, couldnot get thru from Canada.

I plan to book all my hotel room in all four cites thru Priceline in advance (had excellent experience with them) Because priceline do not allow cancellation, therefore it's critical for me to know that I will get to all these cities on schedule.
So far, I feel very uncomfortable without train reservation and little information.
I am looking for assurance that this should work and you folks have done it a thouand times.
Thank you so much..........

Musicteacher Jan 24th, 2007 05:56 PM

Apparently you are going to be in France before going to Vienna-Budapest-Prague. I would get the tickets and make reservations as soon as I arrived in France.

Kristinelaine Jan 24th, 2007 06:03 PM