Money belts outside of clothing-danger?

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 08:27 AM
judy

Money belts outside of clothing-danger?

I'll be traveling to Spain with 2 of my girlfriends and we all have money belts pursuant to prompts I've read about purse-snatchers. What I'm wondering is if you wear the belt outside of your clothes are you at risk to get mugged, or are there ever attempts to pick a money belt outside of your clothes. Our belts are bigger and if we put them under our shirts people could tell anyway.

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 09:00 AM
Helen

Well, I'm not an expert on these matters of crime-prevention, but I thought the whole idea of a money belt was to have something not visible or accessible to thieves, to keep oneself from being a target. If the idea is to keep your valuables out of sight, wouldn't wearing the money belt outside your clothes defeat the whole purpose?

Maybe you can look for a smaller money belt? Samsonite makes one out of thin nylon, and various companies put out similar items. Or maybe some other variation (like those things that strap to your leg or somewhere) exists that would work better for you.

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 09:27 AM
lola

Wear it under!!

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 09:34 AM
Ed

Pick your money belt? Not necessary; a razor will cut the strap in a flash.

Wear it under. Better, consider trading the belts in for a valuables-pouch that hangs around your neck inside your blouse or one that hangs from your bra.

Ed
Rome.Switzerland.Bavaria
www.twenj.com

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 09:45 AM
Brett

Ed-
Will the valuable pouch for my bra interfere with the tassles that already hang there?

Old Mar 8th, 2000, 10:28 AM
dan woodlief

Actually, you can do it either way, depending on the fit of the belt and what kind of clothes you are wearing. I have usually worn it completely under my clothing, but sometimes that is too hot. On other occasions, I have worn it on the outside but still out of sight. I just tuck the bag and straps down into my pants outside my shirt.