Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Mom and 12 y/o long weekend- Paris or Rome? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/mom-and-12-y-o-long-weekend-paris-or-rome-742667/)

threehearts Oct 14th, 2007 05:41 AM

Mom and 12 y/o long weekend- Paris or Rome?

I could really use some help from my Fodors friends. My family has had a bit of a difficult year and I would like to take my 12 y/o daughter away, from the evening of 10/31(Wed.) and return on the following Sunday. We would really only have about 48 hrs. of real touring time since I am assuming that Thurs. will be a bit shot. My daughter is dying to go to Rome and I would like that as well. We used to live in EuropeStockholm) so I am not a complete novice but I must admit that I'm a bit afraid to navigate on my own, not speaking the language. Paris flights are much cheaper than to Rome but my last experience in Paris was 20 yrs. ago with a friend and it was not altogether positive. I don't speak a word of French and I had a difficult time trying to communicate. My last trip to Rome, I found the people of that city more willing to work with my attempts. In short, can you please recommend a centrally located hotel in either city that would be able to pre-book English speaking tours and in general, help out a Mom and her daughter who are trying to make the best of a short visit? The price is less important than the customer service and location. If you have an opinion as to which city you prefer for a long weekend and why, that would be wonderful. I have looked at the NYT 36 hrs. in Rome and Paris and I have researched here. I see that people have taken weekend trips but not so much with a child. thanks very much. Threehearts

ellene Oct 14th, 2007 06:00 AM