Madrid hotel -Ever been to...

Sep 15th, 2001, 01:56 PM
Jeff B

Madrid hotel -Ever been to...

Most hotels I've 'heard of' on this board are booked for the 2 night's I'll be stopping in Madrid...Vacancies at:
Gran Atlanta and/or
Praga -
Anyone with suggestions or experience?
Thanks again

Sep 15th, 2001, 03:04 PM
David

Jeff

I have no experience of the hotels in question - I'll leave that to others to comment on. But have you tried www.solmelia.es. They are a large spanish chain and at the last count I think they have around 25 hotels in Madrid. I have stayed at a couple of their hotels there and many throughout Spain and can thoroughly recommend them.

Sep 16th, 2001, 06:51 AM
tip

More help here?

Sep 16th, 2001, 09:44 AM
Maribel

Jeff B,
Both of your hotels are in areas quite removed from the major sites.
The Gran Atlanta is located in the northern business district, about a half hr. via bus/metro/cab from Old Madrid-not really convenient for sightseeing for your 2 night stay. I know this area because my sister-in-law works just a few blks away, and we've occasionally rented an apt. right across from the hotel. It's an older 4 star place but comfortable-gets a lot of tour groups. The street does have some great (but pricey) restaurants, a Workcenter for internet access, a nice Mallorca patisserie-deli, plus a handy VIPs (a kind of 7/11, American style coffee shop combo), and there's shopping galore at the huge El Corte Ingles complex 3 blks away, but you'd spend a good deal of your 2 day stay (and valuable sightseeing time) shuttling back and forth from downtown.
The Praga is located in another fairly remote area, far south of downtown, a ways beyond Atocha station, in a working class neighborhood with very few tourist amenities. (My brother-in-law lives around here- have 8 sets of in-laws in Madrid!)