Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Lvng in 8days - FRA/BLQ/VCE - Crutch/wheelchair help? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/lvng-in-8days-fra-blq-vce-crutch-wheelchair-help-805770/)

travelphile Sep 12th, 2009 11:45 AM

Lvng in 8days - FRA/BLQ/VCE - Crutch/wheelchair help?

Hi All,

This trip came upon me quickly over the last month or so, and I haven't had the proper time to anticipate it, read, read, read, all the wonders posted here, or even to lay out much of a plan. Luckily, I've been fortunate enough to do similar trips (not always to EU) over the last 7 years since I started learning from the Fodorites!

I ripped tendons/ligaments - not diagnosed that far & I don't care - in my foot/ankle. It was xrayed, not broken, but I feel like a cast would be easier than the braces I am working with.

Does anyone know of a place that would lend/rent a traveler crutches? I don't want to travel with them, but do feel my trip may go better if one day I beat up the foot walking, the next I switch to hurting the arms swinging along the medieval streets of Bologna and crossing bridges in Venice?

OR

Do art galleries & other large exhibits (Accademia in Venice for example) have wheelchairs or motorized buggies to borrow like our local grocery store would? Like crutches I would not use it fulltime, but having one part-time would assist in making my trip less painful.

Trip: BOS-FRA (taxi/bus/train to Landstuhl, 3 nights w civilian friend contracted there)
FRA-Bologna (Ryanair, staying at Casa Ilaria 3 nights)
BLQ to VCE (train, 3 nights Locanda del Ghetto)

Thoughts/experiences?

nytraveler Sep 12th, 2009 12:04 PM