Love Italia love Italians - our trip to Rome and Florence

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 18th, 2009, 04:09 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is not really a trip report. It is more like thanks to all the wonderful information that people on this forum so generously share. I would talk about our impressions here, so that someone else might find something useful. We believe that the many interesting trip reports, the several meticulously answered and debated questions and our reading and planning resulted in a great trip. We would like to contribute a bit too. This is my first attempt at recording our travel experiences and it might not be as interesting as a lot of other reports that I have read here.

Background info:

This was our first trip to Italy. ‘Our’ includes my husband and I. We are in our early thirties, have recently discovered a love for traveling and hope to make the most of being in London.

As some of you might know from my previous posts, there were several changes that were made to our plans, however in the end it all turned out well. We were in Rome for three and a half days and in Florence for a day and a half. We were in Rome from 3rd September- 6th September and then in Florence from 6th September- 8th September 2009.

Accommodation:

Our apartment in Rome was in Trastevere (http://www.vrbo.com/220827), an area we absolutely loved staying in. There is a vibe in this area that is completely infectious and there are loads of fabulous restaurants.
This is a very comfortable apartment for two. It is right at the entrance of Trastevere, in a side street and therefore completely quiet. The tourist information centre is at two minutes walk. The number 8 tram and the H bus are also at 2 minutes from the apartment. It is extremely convenient for using the public transport.