Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Looks like to be out of the track but I really need your comment......

Old Mar 7th, 2002, 07:24 PM
Jessi

Dear All

I have been suffering from low back pain especially during midnight every day after sleeping for a few hours . I think it's because of my mattress which I have been using for 5 years. (The cotton pad layer above the springs is getting thinner and thinner). Now I have been looking for a new mattress and have come across this brand "Tempur" which, as it states: the tempur material has unique visco-elastic temperature sensitive pressure relieving properties. When body heat and weight is applied to the Tempur material, it distributes the pressure evenly, preventing pressure build up in prominent areas of the body, thus effectivly relieves back, neck and joint pains.....

Well, the above description sounds very attractive but the price is another story. For a size of 54' x 75', it costs around US$1500 (after discount). I don't know if this worth the money or not. I don't mind to invest such a big sum to get better sleep but have to know if it really works or not. If any of you have used this mattress before, please comment or give me some advice. Your kind assistance is highly appreciated!!

Old Mar 7th, 2002, 07:29 PM
penelope

Are you taking it to Europe with you?

Old Mar 7th, 2002, 07:34 PM
Jessi

Nope, I will buy it in my home town and use it at home to replace the old mattress.

Old Mar 7th, 2002, 07:37 PM
k

jessi,I think it is too expensive.there are good mattresses for less and I don't know about the tempur mumbo jumbo.look for sealy posturpedic etc..

Old Mar 7th, 2002, 07:40 PM
x

Have you considered flipping your old mattress over and sleeping on the other side? $1500 for a full size mattress is steep; does this price include the box spring? Look at Stearns & Foster which is a top of the line mattress.