Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Looking for Reviews of two Rome apartments -- Via Giulia - Gold and Lungotevere Ripa

Looking for Reviews of two Rome apartments -- Via Giulia - Gold and Lungotevere Ripa

Feb 9th, 2008, 12:48 PM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,830
Looking for Reviews of two Rome apartments -- Via Giulia - Gold and Lungotevere Ripa

Has anyone stayed in either of these apartments? They are offered by Sleep In Italy. We like them because they don't require stair-climbing (I have bad knees). And they have a shower in the bathroom and an adequate kitchen. I am concerned about noise -- and of course whether there are any unpleasant surprises there.

I've scanned some of the apartment review sites but have not seen them reviewed under these names.
charnees is offline  
Feb 9th, 2008, 03:20 PM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,453
If you go to the TripAdvisor Rome forum and search for "Giulia Gold", you'll find a review.

The Lungotevere - whichever section on whichever side of the river - is one of the traffic arteries of Rome. It may not be the most quiet location.
Zerlina is offline  
Feb 10th, 2008, 06:57 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 418
Zerlina,

Thanks for suggesting TA link. I have Giulia Gold booked for 3 nights in May. I hope Sleep in Italy works well---so far, so good and I would hate to think otherwise at this point!

Will post a review when I get back, Chamees if your trip is later in the year.

Kathy
kathrynj is offline  
Feb 10th, 2008, 11:48 AM
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,830
Thanks for the link to the review, Zerlina. I missed that one somehow. It sounds very good!

kathrynj, was there a freezer compartment in the frig there? I need to use an ice pack. As for your report, we leave for Italy on May 14, and get to Rome May 31, so I think I'll go ahead and book the Giulia Gold apt. I hate not having things nailed down. However, it would be nice to know what you think. (We're not takiing our laptop with us, so would not get a chance to check the forums while we are in italy..)

I was concerned about Lungotevere being noisy, as we have walked along parts of it and I know there's a lot of traffic. So even though it looks nice and has a lovely view across the river, we will opt for the Via Giulia one.
charnees is offline  
Feb 10th, 2008, 01:21 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 418
no idea about freezer compartment---I only know the living spaces and have it booked for May 14-17th.

Have a great time!
kathrynj is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:11 AM.