LONDONand on toEDINBURGH,Where to stop?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 12th, 1997, 07:55 AM
Caryl

I am looking for suggestions...
I will be taking my parents on a trip to London and hopefully, Edinburugh. Considering taking the train north to Edinburgh. Our time is limited (3-4) days, before we will be re- joining friends back in London.
What to see, where to stay, where does the train stop along the way?

Old Sep 12th, 1997, 11:11 AM
Christina

I'm not an expert in this area, but did the
reverse trip once by tour bus. I'd recommend
stopping either around the Lake Country in NW
England, or in York in the East. The Lake
District was absolutely beautiful, although it
may not be as easy to get around w/o a car.
I haven't visited York but have wanted to, as it
seems to have some interesting things to see.
I think the Yorkshire countryside is also supposed
to be scenic.

Old Sep 14th, 1997, 12:44 PM
Graziella Guimaraes

Caryl, I have done that trip in February 97. It was outstanding and it is a pity you will only have 3 or 4 days to go because there is so much to see... I spent about 10 days doing it and I can say the highlight was most definatly York with its charming people, spooky ghost stories and above all the breathtaking York Minister! If I was to do it again, I would certainly bet on this great city as a very much pleasant stop along the way.

Old Sep 25th, 2002, 04:57 PM
Rose

Can anyone tell me what train station in London would have a train to take me to Edinburugh-is there a main terminal?<BR>Thank you.

Old Sep 25th, 2002, 06:14 PM
angela

If I remember the train goes through Durham which is a beautiful and very historical town in the borders. However, with 3-4 days I'd probably concentrate on Edinburgh

Old Sep 25th, 2002, 06:44 PM
Mel