Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

London to Amsterdam by air questions - city jet?

Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 12:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We've decided flying is the best way to get from London to Amsterdam.

We looked at the ferry/train combo, but I can get seasick in the bathtub, so that's not a good option, as charming as it might be....

I looked online and found a fare of 117 gbp for 2, one way. It seems like a fair price - but I have no experience with this, so I'm not sure.

Would this be something we should book now (travel first week of October), or is there any advantage to booking once we get to London? We're not flexible with dates.

Also, leaving from London City Centre, (staying near Sloane) and I cannot find anything about how early we need to get to the airport. I've emailed them, but haven't had a reply.

We'll have one suitcase and two carry-on's. It appears we can check one bag, but I'm hoping I'm not missing the "fine print" that can so often offer a nasty surprise.

Any thoughts and advice would be appreciated.
Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 12:35 PM

Hello

I got my BA airticket for 75 gbp (1 person) from Amsterdam to London last month.
Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 01:15 PM
yk

Your Qs are answered on City Jet's FAQ page

http://www.cityjet.com/faqs/index.shtml#Q2

http://www.cityjet.com/faqs/index.shtml#Q5
Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 01:17 PM

EasyJet typically has very good rates. We recently booked a flight with them for our flight from London to Amsterdam. They suggest arriving to the airport 2 hours ahead. Also, their check-in desks close 40 minutes before the flight leaves. Hope this helps!
Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 01:21 PM

Easyjet fly from Gatwick, Luton and Stansted to Amsterdam and in the first week of October have flights from £35 per person all-in, including one check-in luggage.
www.easyjet.com
Old Aug 23rd, 2011, 04:49 PM
Original Poster