Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   LONDON - Layover (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/london-layover-473329/)

Dakota2004 Sep 10th, 2004 05:59 AM

LONDON - Layover

Hello-
I am going to be coming from Athens in late September on a Sunday, arriving at 10am at London Heathrow and my flight out of Heathrow is not until 6pm that night. It is my first time ever in London so I was wondering if anyone thought I would have enough time to see any of the city.
Any suggestions? Such as taking the Heathrow Express to Paddington...and from there I am not sure what to do or what one would do given the time restraint. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

m_kingdom2 Sep 10th, 2004 06:04 AM

Heathrow Express is the fastest way into London, and Paddington is relatively central. However, what would you like to see - I'd recommend taking lunch in Mayfair, and a stroll up Bond St. then back to the airport at around 4pm.

earl30 Sep 10th, 2004 06:28 AM

I think if you've never been to London before you'd want to see something, not spend the day walking around a typical big city shopping area and sitting in a restaurant. I suggest you get a hop-on, hop-off open top bus and let them at least show you the famous sights of London. I'm more familiar with the ones that go from Victoria, but maybe one goes from Paddington?

m_kingdom2 Sep 10th, 2004 06:37 AM

However, you have to look at the time frame. Assume that you won't leave the airport until 11am, suppose you are in London from half-past. You want to be back at the airport by 4pm, so you will have to leave the station by half three, you'll have to be there by three - that leave three and a half hours free.