*Must See Wineries in Tuscany, Italy*

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 28th, 2011, 05:53 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are celebrating our 20th Anniversary, staying near Certaldo, Italy for 10 days in early October, 2011. We are 37 years old and do not really want to have a 'set' schedule but do want to make reservations ahead of time, where needed. This is our second time to Italy, but our first 'stay' in Tuscany. Our goal is to have a very relaxed visit, visit wineries, buy some beautiful ceramics or other arts, and take long drives, and of course eat and drink well! We also plan on taking what looks like one incredible cooking class in Cortona. I am a photographer, so we are also hoping to visit the most amazing of photographic sites, in hoping to enlarge some for wall art. Any suggestions on the most beautiful of settings regarding wineries and great red wine would be appreciated! Also, any 'not to be missed' opportunities of any kind would be appreciated. We really love to visit 'off the beaten' path and the places 'less traveled' . Thank You so very much or I shall say Grazie!! Happy Travels!
Old Mar 28th, 2011, 06:03 AM

I am curious why you picked the Certaldo location if red wine and photograpy are your focus. There are better options.
The most notable reds are much further south in Tuscany---Montalcino and Montepulciano. And, the photo book shots you often see of Tuscany are also in that area. The best wine in that area is actually a white wine---Vernaccia. Be sure to get tons of shots in Volterra, San Gim. and Certaldo Alta.
Old Mar 28th, 2011, 10:01 AM
Original Poster