London in January

Jan 8th, 2010, 05:35 PM
Original Poster

London in January

Hi, Its my first time to visit London for business and what luck that it had to be this month on Jan 22. Just wanted to get an idea how the weather is now...is it snowing a lot? how deep is it? I have only 2 days free out of my 1 week stay and have started planning to explore London. But the weather news has just gotten me worried.

Thanks for any advice....
Jan 9th, 2010, 01:17 AM

Yes it's snowy at the moment, but the central parts are completely clear and you won't have any problems.

If the weather forecast is to be believed it should all be gone by the 22nd.

But in any case it shouldn't cause much more than mild inconvenience if you're sticking to the central areas.

You'll be fine.
Jan 9th, 2010, 03:42 AM

Don't worry. Any problems with snow and ice are out in the suburbs of London, and in other parts of the country. And as CW says, by then things could have thawed out.
Jan 9th, 2010, 04:25 PM
Original Poster

Thanks guys, really appreciate it!
Jan 9th, 2010, 05:21 PM

Long underwear would be a good packing addition. Those usually compact pretty good and I'd rather have them than not. Otherwise tights under slacks help keep you warm and don't add a lot of weight/space. I noticed that it was pretty chilly inside a lot of places in London.

I thought it was pretty chilly between Christmas and New Year's but I was also outside for hours at a time. The cold wind and sometimes rain was much more of a headache than snow in central London.

Have fun!
Jan 9th, 2010, 05:26 PM

London rarely gets really cold (like New England cold) in winter - otherwise they wouldn;t be making such a fuss over a little snow.

It gets very chilly and damp - but it's almost always rain - so can;t be really cold. I think long underwear is really overkill (it's not Siberia) unless you're from FL or someplace that's always very hot - and start putting on a coat when the temp drops below 75.