Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

London family trip: 7 days and a million memories

Old Mar 26th, 2016, 06:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Our family of 5 took our spring break trip in London this past week, with a lot of planning advice from my Fodorite friends. Our children are ages 8, 10, and 12. A British literature teacher by trade, I have been to England before on a county wide tour. My husband attended college at Oxford for a semester over 25 years ago. We were excited to show our children some of the things we love.

This trip was more challenging with the kids. My husband now has a medical condition that requires rest periods and makes night time sleep very challenging. Our daughter gets abdominal migraines when she is around crowds or anxious conditions. We had an unusually long break from school and may not have the opportunity to do this again, so we tried it anyway. To mitigate our circumstances we stayed in a nice hotel with plenty of space and concierge service so we would have easy access to snacks during rest times and when we didn't want to go out for meals. We planned to do only one or two big things each day, head back to the hotel for rest, and maybe go out to dinner at night, if we felt like it.

I booked our room at the Hilton Park Place for a small fortune. It is hard to find rooms for our 5- person family in the U.S., even harder in London. I really felt like we needed plenty of space and concierge service so I booked it and kept an eye on the rate. The week before we left I saw it go on a flash sale for half price! I called Hilton and they gave me that rate. I was super excited!

Day 1: