London bound, on a wing and a prayer!

Old Aug 31st, 2000, 09:05 AM
Beth Anderson

London bound, on a wing and a prayer!

Hey all, <BR> <BR>Good things are happenen' - I just accepted a new job, with new challenges, new responsibilities, a great raise, and lots more vacation time! (4 weeks per year!) <BR> <BR>this all happened so fast - half an hour ago I gave notice and 5 minutes later bought tix to London for 10 days (the amount of time I was able to finagle in between jobs). <BR> <BR>I am not a newbie to London, have been there 5-6 times actually but there is always something new to find. Plus I figure when I get there if I feel like it I can pick up a cheap train/plane ticket and go somewhere for a few days - London is a good base. <BR> <BR>anyway, my questions are these - is there anything quite unique you might suggest I do or see? or do you know specifically of something going on right now or soon which I shouldn't miss out on? fall activities, etc. I will be there the 13th - 23rd. <BR> <BR>I've done much of the tourist stuff, I've done some of the non tourist stuff - in a way, I even consider London as home away from home. I am staying with friends I have made over there (due to going there so often) so I do have local resources as well. <BR> <BR>but there is so much to London that even on several trips there is no way I could have seen it all. I plan on doing several London Walks (never did get to go on the Jack the Ripper one) maybe rent a bike with a cycling friend over there, catch some shows, check out other museums I have not seen yet, shop, etc. <BR> <BR>tell me your favorite spots, things to do, you name it! if this helps, I am a big history buff, especially WWII. I have seen many of the comments from other posters and I thank you all for them. <BR> <BR>I will be doing a lot of research on my own but I thought I'd put that out there... <BR> <BR>thanks <BR> <BR>Beth <BR> <BR> <BR> <BR>

Old Aug 31st, 2000, 09:12 AM
Cindy