Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   London and Rome - how many days each? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/london-and-rome-how-many-days-each-585735/)

CandyG Jan 27th, 2006 12:47 PM

London and Rome - how many days each?

Hi guys,

I'm planning a trip to London and Rome. It is my first time going to both places and I'd like to see mostly historial sights. I'm going by myself, so my plans are v. flexible and also I don't sleep a lot so I always end up getting up v. early when I travel, which gives me lots of time during the day to explore.

What I'd like help is with the following:

I'm planning to fly to London on the 3rd of March, arriving on the 4th at ~7:10am. I'm thinking of spending the 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th (5 days) in London. Then I'm planning on flying to Rome at ~8pm on the 8th and spending the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th exploring Rome (5 days). I'm planning on returning home on the 14th in the morning. I know, not a lot of time but it's all I can do now plus I think I'll be back later in a few years.

Some friends have told me to just do four days in London and 6 in Rome, instead of 5 days in each location. What do you guys think?

Thanks!

Gavin Jan 27th, 2006 01:48 PM

I think five and five is good. You really can't go wrong. Both cities have much to offer.

Snoopy Jan 27th, 2006 01:54 PM

The "friends" who told you 4 in one and 6 in the other . . . do they know you well enough to advise you like that? Or do you think they were simply stating their own predilection to see more of Rome than London?

I liked goofing around London better than goofing around Rome largely because I feel closer to British history than Italian or Roman history.

What's your preference?

victoria_reynolds Jan 27th, 2006 02:04 PM